Thursday, November 4, 2010

November Book Giveaway

In Sara Pennypacker's Clementine, Friend of the Week, it's Clementine's turn to be exactly that in her third-grade classroom. As friend of the week, she's line leader, gets to feed the class pets and collect the milk money, and, best of all, will receive a booklet at the end of the week in which all her classmates have expressed why they like her. Attention and positive strokes -- who wouldn't love it! Prompted by her BFF Margaret, a fourth-grader for whom "Friend of the Week" is SO last year, Clementine embarks on a plan to be the coolest friend ever and collect only the awesomest of comments. But when things get rocky with Margaret and her kitten goes missing, Clementine forgets all the helpful promises she's made. Is Clementine going to completely bomb as "Friend of the Week"?

This book has appealing characters and plenty of laugh-out-loud spots. Fans of Judy Moody and Ramona Quimby, not to mention the previous Clementine books, will eat it up.                            

To be entered in the drawing:
  • Comment on this post anytime from now through Monday, November 15.
  • For an additional entry, become a follower of this blog and mention that in the comment. Ditto if you already are a follower.
  • For additional entries, post links to this contest and give the URLs.
Winner will be announced Tuesday, November 16.

So, come one, come all--and meanwhile have a great day in the world of books.

31 comments:

Bish Denham said...

Oh this sounds like a good one! I'm link to you through my sidebar.

Kelly said...

That books sounds fun with a good message. If I don't win, I'm going to buy it for my daughter anyway!!
I'll add it to my blog today!

Sharon K. Mayhew said...

OMGoodness, this sounds like a wonderful book! If I don't win (and I had sworn off contests for a while) I'll have to rush out and buy it!

Marcia said...

Bish -- Clementine has such appeal to this age group. Thanks for the link!

Kelly -- Fun with a message is such a great combo. Thank you for the link, too!

Sharon -- Contests (like everything else on the web) can get addicting, can't they? There's nothing like a good laugh.

Vijaya said...

My daughter and I have enjoying the Clementine books so very much, so please enter me in your contest. This one sounds just as promising like all the others.

Linda Henderson said...

My grandkids would love this book.

seriousreader at live dot com

Linda Henderson said...

I follow on GFC.

seriousreader at live dot com

Linda Henderson said...

I tweeted this giveaway.
http://twitter.com/BookOwner/status/29685707352

seriousreader at live dot com

Linda Henderson said...

I posted on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=167530379971892&id=1232683984

seriousreader at live dot com

Gwendolyn B. said...

Oh! We love Clementine at my house! Thanks for the chance to win a copy of her latest shenanigans.

geebee.reads AT gmail DOT com

Gwendolyn B. said...

. . . And, I'm a Follower!

geebee.reads AT gmail DOT com

Gwendolyn B. said...

Posted on my sidebar at A Sea of Books. http://aseaofbooks.blogspot.com/

geebee.reads AT gmail DOT com

Judylynn said...

I'd LOVE to win this book! Thanks!

And I am a follower!

seizethebookblog(at)gmail(dot)com

Shannon O'Donnell said...

Hi, Marcia! I hopped over from Kelly's blog and I'm so glad I did. :-)My daughter would LOVE the Clementine books - thanks for a great Christmas idea! I'm a new follower, and I will post a link to your contest on my sidebar:
http://shannonkodonnell.blogspot.com

MaDonna Maurer said...

I'm not sure I'm eligible since I one the last month's book giveaway.
If I am GREAT! I am +3 I follow and I blogged...http://umdmaurer.blogspot.com/2010/11/more-giveawaysand-nanopiboidmo.html

If I can't enter, then good luck to you all. And thanks for the review...I want to get this one either way. =)

Inspired Kathy said...

I'd love a copy of this book. bkhabel at gmail dot com

Inspired Kathy said...

I am a follower bkhabel at gmail dot com

Marcia said...

Thank you all for your great enthusiasm! You are all duly entered (yes, you too, MaDonna). :D

Llehn said...

Hooray for Clementine, though I wouldn't want her to be my kid!

I'm a follower.

lesly7ch(at)yahoo(dot)com

Sharon K. Mayhew said...

LOL, Marcia~You are so right!

C.R. Evers said...

I love it! Count me in!

Marcia said...

Llehn -- LOL. That was how I felt about Ramona as a kid -- I didn't know any kids at the time who could have done HALF that stuff without getting a good paddling.

Sharon -- BOOKS are the real addiction, no? :)

CR -- Thanks for entering!

Mary Witzl said...

That really does sound like a fun book, and one I would have loved at that age (it features a missing kitten).

apple blossom said...

I love laugh-out-loud books. thanks for the giveaway

ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

apple blossom said...

gfc follower


ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

Marcia said...

Mary and apple blossom, thanks for entering!

Renee G said...

This looks like it would be a great book for our family reading time.
rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOT)com

Renee G said...

I am also following on GFC as Renee G
rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOT)com

Marcia said...

Hi Renee! Thanks for entering. :)

Anonymous said...

Marcia, I'd love to enter! Thanks for the opportunity.

Amy C.

Marcia said...

Hi Amy, thanks for entering. :)